Poe Ascendancy Class

Poe Ascendancy Class? Everything You Need to Know

The path of exile gameplay requires you to choose a class before you play the game. Depending on the class that you choose, you’d have specific roles and responsibilities that you’d need to fulfill to move forward in the game. As of now, there are currently six classes that you can choose from. There is also a seventh class that gets unlocked as you progress in the game.  So, there are 6 basic classes. Each class has its own subclasses which are known as ascendancies. A Poe Ascendancy Class is a subset of the path of exile character class. It offers access to a new Ascendancy skill tree specific to the class that you have chosen to play the game. 

In this article, we’ll go deeper into the Ascendancy class and learn about all its bits and pieces so that you can make the most out of it.

What is Poe Ascendancy Class?

Path of Exile gameplay keeps getting interesting as you go further into the game.

When you are just starting, the game is going to ask you to choose a class. This class defines the character you are going to play the game as. Once you choose a class, you have an option to choose an ascendancy class for your chosen class. 

A Poe ascendancy class is a kind of an extension and it opens up your access to a new Ascendancy Skill Tree based on the character class that you chose to play with. 

For example, if you choose the Duelist class, you can choose from the Slayer, Gladiator, or the champion Ascendancy classes for it. 

Further, each of these classes is going to have their specific that you’d need to learn as you play the game. 

You’d need to complete the Labyrinth to choose an Ascendancy class. Once you choose an Ascendancy class, you’d be able to get a new Ascendancy skill tree as per your class. 

However, it is all based on the Ascendancy points. Players can earn about 8 Ascendancy points by completing the acts and the eternal labyrinth.     

Poe Ascendancy Skill Tree Explained

Let’s talk a little bit about the Ascendancy Skill Tree that you unlock when you choose an Ascendancy Class. 

Once a character completes the labyrinth, they have access to a small skill tree knows as the Ascendancy skill tree. Each of the Ascendancy classes has its own skill tree.

Further, as the players earn Ascendancy skill points, they can spend them on allocating nodes which grants them passive bonuses.

You will find the Ascendancy skill tree in the same location where the passive skill tree is. It will be the tab that is near the character’s starting location.

  • Layout

The Poe Ascendancy passive skills are way more powerful as compared with the standard passive skills. They have a huge impact on the play of the character. 

A character can only spend 8 points on their skill tree. Further, the last two points don’t become available for spending until much later. 

Most character classes have 12-16 passive skills on the skill tree. Likewise, if a character wants to have a 4-pointer skill, they’d need to clear the eternal labyrinth.  

The format of Ascendancy classes is a lot different than the standard classes. An Ascendant class passive takes about 3 points to reach. Which is gated by an attribute passive and then a free skill point. 

Subsequently, obtaining the second starting point would require 5 points to reach. 

There are various trials of ascendancy Poe Ninja that you’d have to complete. The ascendant would need to clear the merciless labyrinth and the cruel labyrinth to start allocating the points and to reach a power spike.    

  • Refunding

If you want to refund an Ascendancy skill point, you’d need five regular refund points for that. Further, you can refund all the points if you want to change the Ascendancy class. 

You can use the alter of the Ascendancy Poe in the labyrinth treasure room to choose a new Ascendancy class. We recommend sticking to a class that you have chosen for better results. 

Ascendancy Class

Here is an overview of the overall path of exile classes and their subset Poe ascendancy classes

  • Duelist Class:

This class has Slayer, Gladiator, and Champion as its ascendancy classes. 

  • Shadow Class:

This class has Assassin, Saboteur, and Trickster as its ascendancy classes. 

  • Marauder Class:

This class has Juggernaut, Berserker, and Chieftain as its ascendancy classes. 

  • Witch Class:

This class has Necromancer, Elementalist, and Occultist as its ascendancy classes.   

  • Ranger Class:

This class has Deadeye, Raider, and Pathfinder as its ascendancy classes. 

  • Templar Class:

This class has Inquisitor, Hierophant, and Guardian as its ascendancy classes.  

  • Scion Class:

This class has Ascendant as its ascendancy class. 

Poe Trials of Ascendancy

There are a lot of Poe trials of ascendancy that a gamer has to go through in Poe. These trials are found in the Labyrinth that you are completing. 

There are 4 labyrinths that you’d need to complete

  • The Normal Labyrinth 
  • The Cruel Labyrinth 
  • The Merciless Labyrinth 
  • The Eternal Labyrinth 

Likewise, each of these labyrinths has its own Poe ascendancy trials. Once you complete these trials of ascendancy, you’d earn skill points that you can use for upgrades.

Once you complete the trials of ascendancy, it would open up the labyrinth entrance at the statue of the Goddess in The Sarn Encampment. So, you’d be able to move forward from there.

How to Receive Ascendancy Skill Points?

Here are some of the ways you can obtain ascendancy skill points 

If you complete the labyrinth on Normal difficulty, you’d get 2 ascendancy skill points.

And if you complete the labyrinth on cruel difficulty, you’d get 4 ascendancy skill points.

If you complete the labyrinth on merciless difficulty, you’d get 6 ascendancy skill points. 

Final Words

This is all there is to it about the Ascendancy Classes. Make sure to choose a character class that you prefer and then stick to it till the end. Go through the ascendency classes for each character class and make an informed decision about the class that you want to go for. 

If you have more questions about the Ascendancy Classes, feel free to reach out to us. We’d be happy to help you out.